Accepted Doctoral Symposium papers
Click Here

ICDCN 2020 will host a Doctoral Symposium for research scholars to present their research works, practices and methods, and to promote networking and collaboration with peers in their fields. The Symposium will provide an opportunity for students to obtain helpful feedback on their research from academics and practitioners from leading universities and industries.

Call for Proposals

PhD students working in the following areas can submit their research proposals for consideration for the symposium, following guidelines listed below.

  • Distributed Systems: design, analysis, development and experiments
  • Distributed database and Big Data platforms
  • Distributed computing platforms for cloud computing
  • Mobile and pervasive computing
  • Embedded systems, many/multi-core architectures, and High Performance Computing
  • Data center and enterprise cloud network infrastructure
  • Formal methods for distributed Computing and network assurance
  • Distributed algorithms for big data analytics
  • Overlay and P2P networks and services
  • Ad-hoc, sensor, PAN and mesh networks
  • Network function virtualization and Mobile edge computing
  • Network security and privacy
  • Internet of Things and Cyber Physical Systems
  • Pricing and network economics
  • Network robustness, Fault tolerance, and Delay tolerant networks
  • Cellular networks (4G/LTE and 5G) and Aerial Platforms
  • Next generation and converged network architectures
  • Software-defined and cognitive networks
  • Emerging “challenge” applications for distributed systems and networking


Those who are enrolled as a full-time student in a PhD program at any university as on date of submission of the proposal are eligible. PhD students who are in the 2nd to pre-final year of their program with a well formulated problem and initial technical approach/results are particularly encouraged to apply as they would benefit from the feedback from the symposium. Exceptional students enrolled in a Bachelors or Masters program working towards a dissertation and with a research problem defined and results available may also be considered.

Submission Guidelines

Proposal submissions to the PhD Symposium should include the following

  • Research Proposal not exceeding 2-pages (extended abstract), including references, in standard ACM format available here
  • Curriculum Vitae (1-2 pages)
  • Advisor's Recommendation Letter

The research proposal must include a clear problem statement of the research with motivation and examples, novelty of the problem and related work, scientific and technical approach, and the results obtained so far. The student author should be clearly indicated, and the advisor(s) should be listed as co-authors.

All submissions must be made electronically in PDF format through HotCRP.

Symposium Details

The proposals will be reviewed, and the primary student author of the proposals that are accepted will have the opportunity to give a short oral presentation (10 minutes) followed by a poster presentation of their work at ICDCN. Posters-only accepted proposals may make a 1 minute rapid fire presentation. No-show is not allowed, and will lead to the submission being withdrawn from the proceedings. ICDCN Doctoral Symposium also fosters mentoring of doctoral students working in this research domain through work in progress papers. Based on the potential of the research work presented, they may be assigned a mentor for one-to-one discussion and refinement of the topics. The accepted submissions will be included in the ICDCN proceedings as a 1-page abstract.

Financial Support

ICDCN will waive the registration fee for all participants and will provide travel grant to the selected participants.More details of the support will be provided closer to the conference date.

Important Dates

  • Submission Deadline: September 22, 2019October 3, 2019
  • Acceptance Notification: November 05, 2019
  • Camera-Ready Submission: November 10, 2019
  • Event Date: January 5, 2020

Doctoral Symposium Chairs

Web Chair

  • Soumyajit Chatterjee, IIT Kharagpur
  • Swapnil Gandhi, IISc

Program Committee (Tentative)

  • Debadatta Mishra, IIT Kanpur, India
  • Debi Prosad Dogra, IIT Bhubaneswar, India
  • J Lakshmi, IISc, India
  • Joydeep Chandra, IIT Patna
  • Kishore Kothapalli, IIIT-Hyderabad, India
  • Mark Grechanik, University of Illinois, Chicago, USA
  • Markus Esch, FKIE, Germany
  • Maximilien Danisch, LIP6, Sorbonne University, Paris
  • Mohamed Shehab, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, USA
  • Pradipta De, SUNY, Korea
  • Rajib Maiti, IDBRT, India
  • Rishiraj Saha Roy, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Saarbrücken
  • M. Sabarimalai Manikandan, IIT Bhubaneswar, India
  • Sandip Chakraborty, IIT Kharagpur, India
  • Santonu Sarkar, Infosys Labs, Bangalore, India
  • Saptarshi Ghosh, IIT Kharagpur
  • Sathya Peri, IIT Hyderabad, India
  • Sourav Dandapat, IIT Patna, India
  • Sudipta Saha, IIT Bhubaneswar, India
  • Sujoy Saha, NIT Durgapur, India
  • Sushanta Karmakar, IIT Guwahati, India
  • Venkataramana Badarla, IIT Tirupati
  • Santosh Biswas, IIT Guwahati
  • Rajat Subhra Chakraborty,IIT Kharagpur
  • Nirnay Ghosh, IIEST, Shibpur
  • Hari Prabhat Gupta, IIT BHU
  • Sumit Kalra, IIT Jodhpur
  • Puru Kulkarni, IIT Bombay
  • Supratik Mukhopadhyay, IIT Kanpur
  • Krishna Nandivada, IIT Madras
  • Suresh Purini, IIIT Hyderabad
  • Sarbani Roy, Jadavpur University
  • Smruti Ranjan Sarangi, IIT Delhi
  • Bibhas Sen, NIT Durgapur
  • Debarati Sen, IIT Kharagpur
  • Ramakrishna Upadrasta, IIT Hyderabad
  • Subhajit Sidhanta, IIT Bhilai


Jadavpur University Jadavpur University